Books on the big screen

I rarely watch movies-particularly ones based on books I’ve read. Bookworms know that the book is always better than the movie.

Tonight my mom and I watched “One For the Money” based on the book by Janet Evanovich. My mom is a huge fan of the Stephanie Plum series. Katheryn Heigel was funny and believable in the role of Stephanie Plum, an embryonic bounty hunter, with more attitude then sense who’s over her head in the search for a murder. The Jersey girl gets help from the bail jumper she’s hunting, a sexy security guard, and a sassy “working girl.”

I haven’t read any of the books so I don’t know whether or not the big screen portrayal measured up to the book.

Sometimes even mediocre movies can make new fans for an author. After watching the Jesse Stone TV movies on CBS I finally gave Robert B. Parker’s books a try. My mom had been laughing out loud to his books for years and constantly told me how much I’d like them. I read straight through the series during Spring Break. I’d never have pictured Tom Selleck in the role of Jesse Stone (he’s old enough to be Jesse’s father) but now I can’t imagine another actor playing the part.

The worst adaptation of a book into a movie was “The Horse Whisper.” The movie leaves out the last 3rd of the book and the end is different. As the credit’s rolled I was like “but they didn’t, and he’s not and she’s not.” I don’t think the script writers read the book. Not even Robert Redford can make-up for the three hours of my life that I lost.

If I were the head of a Hollywood studio I”d start with making Christian suspense books into movies. My dream list: The O’Malley series by Dee Henderson, the Newpointe 911 series by Terri Blackstock and “Protection for Hire” by Camy Tang.

What’s your favorite (or least favorite) book that’s been made into a movie?

What book would you love to see on the big screen? Who would you cast?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers